Corn on the Cob; Mum’s simple treat

Baby Boo eating corn on the cob

Boo's first corn on the cob experience - yummy!

Prompted by Beckicklesie’s Oui Chef challenge (there’s still time to get your posts included!), I couldn’t help myself but purchase corn on the cob earlier this month.

Somehow, my own mother convinced both my sister and I that this was a real treat.  As we grew up, I can even remember ordering it in restaurants as a starter (if you remember when they used to put corn on the cob as a whole meal in itself on the menu, you too were probably a child of the 70s or earlier!).  These days I know it’s a treat…simple, seasonal and around 20p per cob between August, September and October.

I’m ashamed to admit that I had to look up how to cook it!  For those who share my lack of ‘yummy cook of the year’ nominations, remove the husk (the leafy bits) and silk (the stringy bits), stick enough water in a saucepan to cover said cob(s), add corn to boiling water, allow to boil for a further 4 minutes (turning occasionally), remove from pan and serve up rolled in just a knob of butter and perhaps with a little black pepper according to taste.  Real fast food!

On reflection, I think that the reason I remember this distinctly unadventurous suppertime delicacy is because it absolutely engages all the senses.  Firstly, it is a vision in vibrant, yellow, shining on the plate…it looks much more fun than food, more like a slightly quirky toy and every bit as entertaining!  Picking it up with both hands (using those little decorative corn on the cob holders – a food which actually has its very own dedicated cutlery, no less! I can’t think of any other individual food that is bestowed with this honour!) you bring it up to your mouth to get yer chops right ’round it (avoiding the melted butter dripping down your chin)!  This is when the smell hits you, especially as you start eating through it…milky and sweet.  As you chomp your way through it, all you can hear is that accompanying “Munch, crunch, slurp, nom nom” at full volume inside your own head. And finally the taste….there’s literally nothing like it.  Delicious, sweet and oh so simple, exploding with far more flavour than such a basic food should ever be able to achieve!

I remember a lot of giggling at the table and my sister and I would compete to see who could most completely clean up the cob, dipping the already eaten parts in butter to suck out those very last little bits (tooth picks at the ready!)!

I was thrilled to see my little Boo as he began his first ever corn on the cob experience.  It took him no time at all to work out how to go about devouring it.  I watched each of those senses being explored as he did so.  And he loved it.  So effective, I will even go so far as to say that it surely has to qualify as a ‘yummy mummy’s’ treat!  With hardly any effort at all!

This entry was posted in Yummy in the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Corn on the Cob; Mum’s simple treat

  1. Janie says:

    Even though I’ve just eaten my breakfast, I am now yearning for corn on the cob!

    For a more grown up affair, crush some dry roasted peanuts and sprinkle that over the butter (YUM!) Another way to cook is to peel back the husk but leave them attached and use those leaves as the ‘handle’, brush with a bit of melted butter and then stick under the grill (or even better the campfire!) till they just start to turn colour, keep turning till all done.

    Yum, Slurp, indeed 😀

  2. Mandi says:

    Oh, I LOVE corn on the cob. Specially when it’s fresh from the field (though forzen if pretty good too). And I now realise that I’m not the only one to dip the empty nibble cob into the butter and suck out the very last of its sweetness.
    And yes. I too am a child of th 70s….

    • lizzyo22 says:

      Hi Mandi! Thanks for your comment! And for sharing that my sister and I aren’t the only ones either! Boo was treated to another yesterday (well…while they’re still just about in season! Why not!) and he would NOT let it go (even after it was well past finished!)…so seems he feels the same as us!

  3. Beckicklesie says:

    How cute! I love corn on the cob, and you’re right, it’s such a treat when you’re a child. Like you say, fantastic on the pockets too.

    Thanks for contributing, we’re getting the scores together tonight and then posting points and winners. This months challenge is chocolate. Can’t wait to read your post.

    Becca x

    • lizzyo22 says:

      No worries and thanks for your comment! I have been thinking about your chocolate theme, but every time I do, I end up needing some…not especially good for the diet! Will post soon (hopefully when there’s none left in the house!) x

Leave a Reply

